Dexcom This Week

I have a new endocrinologist. I like her very much! She is thorough, approachable, and informative. She also has a problem-solving attitude and makes me feel that we are a team. She is not just about “the numbers,” as was my most recent endo. All in all, I’m excited to work with her. So, when she suggested a CGM (Continuous Glucose Monitor), I was excited to give it a try.

I’ve been poking/pricking my fingers more than 10x per day the past month, trying to make some sense of the fluctuations in my glucose as I added more exercise and kept my prednisone level constant. The CGM should alleviate much of that poking, right? It can only be a step in the right direction, right? Right. I checked out the info page and it looked very – shall I say – jolly.

I hadn’t thought much about the mechanics of inserting the sensor. I honestly assumed I’d just slide it across my stomach until it was in place. I know. Not a terribly realistic assumption, but it was my assumption. I decided to read up on the Dexcom on some forums and discovered posts about position and tape that made me not quite anxious – but curious. So, I watched this video by DiabeticDanica. (Who, by the way, also looks downright – shall I say – jolly.) I have to admit, though, that I was comforted by her attitude as she affixed her sensor, even as I felt a bit daunted at the¬†prospect of using the sensor handle attachment thing to attach my own future sensor.

I know. It’s going to work and in a few weeks, it will be no-bit-deal. Still. For those of us who feel compelled to mark the passing of our innocence as we adapt to this ever more demanding disease, I present, the Dexcom sensor inserter mechanism up close:

images

And yet. I’m seriously¬†looking forward to the arrival of my Dexcom. I’m sure affixing the sensor is going to work out fine. I’m sure it will become just as routine and checking my glucose and taking my insulin. I just want to point out that the entire veneer of smiling, happy, going-about-my-life-like-it’s-nothing media around diabetes is bs at its finest

I shall, however, be happy to join the “it’s nothing” people while wearing my Dexcom.

~Mia

Leave a Reply

